Today social skills are being more and more emphasized by employers. Some people believe that social skills are important besides good qualifications for their job success. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of globalization, social skills become one of the most crucial criteria in many areas. Therefore, some people believe that these accomplishments are more and more significant than good qualifications. Personally, I am totally in agreement with that statement despite some evident benefits of qualifications. To begin with, degrees, certificates, or diplomas are necessary and decisive in many job interviews, because qualifications are often the first impression which employers are able to classify profiles according to performances and experience. Consequently, many people overestimate their tertiary degrees in lieu of enhancing social skills, or enlarging their social circles. However, the way people interact with others, which might not be the key factor which helps applicants to pass the interviews, turns out to be the necessity for the ones who want to succeed. According to many books, references, and researches, only 20% of success comes from talents, while the remaining is occupied with social and soft skills. Subsequently, social skills help people to solve problems with ease. To clarify this, there is a host of puzzles which employees are likely to encounter, therefore, the interpersonal abilities offer them with more feasible solutions from different members in a group, or a community. As a result, people are capable of devising an optimal approach to tackle the problem within an inconsiderable period of time. For example, GitHub is a collaborative platform which offers programmers and developers with a power of working together regardless of distance. With GitHub's aid, a number of technical issues have been resolved without any difficulties as developers are able to discuss with others, revise and enhance their common source code. As a result, numerous applications have been introduced and users could seize on those apps to make their tasks done. In conclusion, although qualifications are an essential prerequisite which help candidates to land a good job, I believe social skills are more crucial and necessary to succeed in this era.