More and more schools allow fast-food restaurants to sell their products to their students. Is it a positive or negative development?

Many educational institutes have permitted the junk food outlets to trade their produce to the pupils. This approach can lead to the major health issues in the students, and can also slow down the growth. Therefore, this is undoubtedly unfavourable progress. This essay will discuss its impact in detail with a suitable example. Firstly, the processed food available in the canteens contains a huge amount of fat and sugar, which causes obesity, diabetes, and even cancer. In other words, the over-consumption of such foodstuffs can have adverse effects on the health of the school-going children. Moreover, it will directly have influence on their academic performance because there will be more chances of students getting sick. For instance, according to a survey conducted by the University of Shimla, in 2016, in India, it was found that the students who consume a lot of unhealthy, ready-to-eat products show poor school results. Secondly, most of the fast- food places have packed foodstuff, which contains various preservatives, and are directly linked to a decline in the mental and physical development. This is to say that the daily consumption at such restaurants will reduce the growth of children. Furthermore, they will have an inactive brain, which decreases the effective learning in the adolescents. To exemplify, the research carried out in 2018, in the University of Nainital, India, says that the long-term consumption of preservatives causes a 40% of reduction in the cognitive development of human beings. Thus, the selling of the processed foodstuffs in schools is extremely harmful. To conclude, the retailing of junk products in school premises is a negative growth. Moreover, its daily utilisation reduces the progress, and enhances the risk of deadly diseases in pupils.