People living in large cities today face many problems in their everyday life. What are these problems? Should governments encourage people to move to smaller regional towns?

Living in big cities has some merits; however city dwellers could also encounter some problems. These issues are attributed to some reasons; and in my opinion, people should be encouraged to live in smaller towns to tackle these problems. There are a variety of issues that city residents have to cope with. Firstly, pollution is one of the major problems that citizens have to cope with. Due to the increasing volume of traffic on the road and the number of factories built, more pollutants are discharged into the air, water and soil, which cause the deterioration of the environment. As a result, the health of people living in big cities will gradually degrade. Secondly, people in big cities have to face housing problems. It is the fact that adequate housing is not affordable for many city residents as housing price in cities can be very high and the residents’ income is typically low. Consequently, many city dwellers have to live in substandard houses or apartments or even in slums. In my opinion, the government should take necessary actions to encourage people to move to regional towns. The first reasons is that it could reduce a considerable amount of transportation on the road, which helps reduce the level of air pollution in big cities. In addition, that more people move to regional towns could relieve the pressure on housing supply. Moreover, living in smaller regional towns offers better air quality and more comfortable space, which can add more values to people’s live. In conclusion, polluted environment and housing problems are two pressing problems that cities dwellers have to encounter. I think that the government should encourage people to relocate to other places.