Some people think that women should not be allowed to work in the police force. Do you agree or disagree?

The police department has always been a male-dominated field. This has led to the general thinking that it is not an optimal professional choice for women. However, many of them are defying those odds and rising to powerful positions within the department. Through this essay I will attempt to explain why I feel that this notion is completely unjustified and is a result of an overtly prejudiced society. Most people will oppose the idea of women choosing a career in law enforcement. One of the many arguments they will put forth is that women are not on par with men in terms of physical fitness and skill, as the job can be exhausting both physically and mentally. For instance, if not perfectly competent, they would be a liability in situations involving chasing a fleeing criminal. Another typical reason would be that a woman is automatically expected to be the forerunner in child-rearing and household activities and is considered negligent towards her family if she chooses a job which demands much of her personal time. On the other hand, it would not be an exaggeration to say that women are essential not only in the police department but also in other tough jobs. This is because they are better at intricate detective work and tend to pick up details that their male counterparts might miss. Moreover, policewomen are necessary in handling women under custody as there are many examples of unfortunate incidents reporting harassment by some policemen. In conclusion, based on the above discussed points, I firmly believe that women are more than capable to achieve in a demanding job and that we, as a society have to work towards a future where such gender biases are not the norm.