The free movement of goods across national borders has long been a controversial issue. Some people argue that it is necessary for economic growth, while others claim that it damages local industries. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Strong relations between countries are partly caused by the importing and exporting of goods. This may be in the form of livestocks, food, building materials, automobiles, and fabrics, to name a few. However, like in every other circumstances, there are some pros and cons of these flexible regulations regarding import and export across countries. While there have been opinions that thought of this as a necessity for development in the economy, I personally think that it should be limited considering the effects it has on domestic companies. It is true that the freedom of moving these goods from countries to countries plays quite a big role in allowing the economy to keep growing. Through this, citizens of other nationalities are able to know more about a country's local product, and domestic citizens get to learn about other country's uniqueness. As a result, the people who are interested in these imported souvenirs, would be persuaded to purchase more, thus, contributing to that nation's economic development. On the other hand, when products from foreign countries can freely come and go at any time, chances are local citizens would prefer to purchase goods from another country with the belief that it will show more prestige compared to products from local brands. While in reality, there are local companies which are able to produce the same quality products as these foreign industries; they just simply lack in branding, and often times, overlooked. To conclude, there are two opposing perspectives regarding this situation; one values the advantage, while the other values the contrary. In my opinion, domestic citizens' love towards local goods is significant, as it determines a country's development in almost every aspect, including the economy. Therefore, I think that it would make a better impact for the country if the movement of goods is limited to a certain extent.