Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Many organisations request individuals to provide the update related to their like, dislike, personal interest and information when they apply for suitable vacancies. While a majority of the people apparently of the opinion that it is very important and necessary for employers whereas I believe that it is not required as it could be very risky. A number of companies often prefer to have a databank for any advertisement. In other words, they maintain the records of the persons for future reference, communication or database. This will definitely support the employer to find an appropriate person as per personal skills, hobbies and knowledge. In addition, It would be mandatory requirement as per company policy to know an applicant while shortlisting for the interview. For instance, some recruitment company uses this data for manpower supply agencies. My brother is also working in such place and this practice has been globally accepted. In contrary, such advice may lead to negative impact on individuals. There is a plethora of reasons why personal information turned to create a problem. It may steal your data and give it to anyone who might use it for registration or for online social media identity. It could also harm your image. To illustrate, as per research conducted by the university of Japan, more than 70% of employer agreed that the data provided by applicants while applying a job was not secure and safe. It could be accessed by any employee working within the workplace. In a nutshell, It is evident from the above discussion that this is not a logical way to collect the knowledge while applying a job. Any employer should ignore the criteria and allow an applicant without it.