In some countries it is traditional for men to work and women to stay at home to look after the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In many countries, men are breadwinners whilst women have to stay at home to take car of their families. This situation has both benefits and drawbacks, in this essay I will look at both. On the one hand, there are several advantages when women are stay-at-home mothers. First, children greatly benefit from spending time with their mothers and this makes a sense of motherhood between children and their mothers. For example, my mother regularly took us to supermarket when we were younger and told tales to us in the evenings. This made us feel happy and loved. Moreover, women responsible for nurturing their children means less financial burdens in terms of hiring caregivers or sending children to child-care centers, thus parents could use that money to buy what their children need. What is more, mothers who do not go to work will have more time and energy to devote to looking after their children, without having working -place stress. On the other hand, the disadvantages of this also are clear to see. After a long period of taking care of families, mothers are likely to be not keep themselves updated with lasted knowledge. This means that they may not be able to compete with young people who have more recent knowledge when mothers want to find another job after motherhood. Furthermore, due to high cost of living in some countries, it is better for both parents go to work, thus it would be easier for them to buy things for their children if there were two incomes. Being at home for a long time and taking of children also never be an easy job when mothers have to encounter with some misbehaviors of their sons or daughters, and try to solve them could be a difficult job. For instance, I was an aggressive boy when I was a child and sometimes, I injured my friends, this made my mother miserable and there was a time she suffered from depression. In conclusion, although parents and children can benefit when mothers do not go to work and stay at home to take care of their families, there might be more disadvantages for the family and mothers in particular when they have to shoulder such a huge responsibility of raising their children.