Nowadays in many countries more and more people are spending their time away from their families. Why is this? What are the effects on themselves and on their families?

In the modern life, there are more and more people spending less time with their family. This essay will examine the major causes and possible influences of this phenomenon. To begin with, there are several explanations that are worth mentioning about this issue. The first reason is that due to the fast pace of modern life, people are now living a busier one and devoting an increasing amount of time to work. It is increasingly common that people tend to lose the balance between family and clerical work since they usually spend more time at work and do not come home until late at night. For example, due to the heavy workload many workers have to work more than 10 hours a day, and sometimes they are required to work during weekend or overnight to meet the deadline. The rapid development of social media is the second reason for this trend. That parents and children stay together but hold their own mobile phones or laptops to communicate with online friends on Facebook instead of talking with each other is easily seen these days. This rising issue is having considerable impacts on both individuals themselves and family. First, it is believed that family is where people can share their feelings and problems, which help them to release their stress. However, an individual may experience emotional distress if they do not receive proper support from his/ her immediate family. Second, the bonds between parents and children may be weakened. For instance, when parents do not spend much time with their children, their children will lack of appropriate parental care and attention and are likely to follow a path towards criminal behaviors. In conclusion, there are two main factors leading to the fact that people hardly make time for their family and not only individuals but also the family may suffer from this trend in both physical and emotional ways.