Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Some believe that university students have to study subjects related to science and technology, which have greater impact on mankind, whereas others believe that they should study the subject in which they are passionate. In my point of view, every subject matter taught in university has implications in later life as well as for the betterment of society. However, the statement has dual aspects which will be discussed below. On the one hand, science and technology have progressed rapidly and impacted our activity top to bottom so that we can not deny the blessings. Moreover, we have to cope up with the advancement for not being old fashioned. For example, the computer has changed the world everywhere, so that this is hard nowadays to find someone who can not operate it. If someone likes to study in this field, he may get success in life which is undeniably a goal of life. On the other hand, fields other than science like economics, philosophy, the arts are necessary to establish an enriched community. Moreover, one can excel in something if he is passionate about that thing. For instance, if Bryan Adams tried to study on subjects which are set by society standard rather than music, we would have lost a phenomenal musician. Therefore, passion should be given more priority than the concern of usefulness in future. To summarise, this is apparent that science and technology has much more exposure in our life, but the arts and commerce are also required to set norms, thought, ethics and belief of society. That is why, this is advised for students to give focus on the subject as per their choice despite thinking about the usefulness of that subject in life.