Eating too much sugar is harmful for health. Some people think that it is a government responsibility to limit people’s sugar consumption, while others think that it is individuals responsibility to limit the amount of sugar they eat. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are contrary views to limitations on sugar intake, whether individuals should take the responsibility or it can be blamed on the ministry entirely. Excessive sweets or sugar in any form can be extremely harmful to the human body. In this essay, I will be sharing perspectives on both views and emphasize on why I believe this should be stopped by the government on a larger scale. While the authority has appointed Food and Drug Authority department to monitor ingredients that form a composition of the consumable items, the veracity of the audits on each product are always a question mark. For example, the chocolate spread famously known as, 'Nutella', has known to have the highest composition of direct or added sweeteners, however, this product appears to comply with all tests and directly fed to the young children who eventually become more addicts to the sugar rush. These slippages, if not controlled or punishable by the authorities can cause grievous bodily harm to the younger generation. Although we can always blame the senior officials we elected to run the city and country, a responsibility to take care of self and family evenly lies on the individual's shoulders too. India is land of many festivals and every occasion starts and ends with sweets. For example, during Diwali, Holi, Eid, Christmas, and many other occasions, Indians are comfortable saying they have a sweet tooth and follow it up with a humungous handful of afters. These locally made desserts, cannot be restricted by the government but controlled at an individual level. Indians wait till someone falls extremely unwell before they are placed on a completely strict diet of zero sweets, which means, all restrictions apply only when the doctor says so. In conclusion, government should have a very strict rule about carbohydrate contained products that are released in the market, coming directly under their purview, however, individuals also have to compensate eating sweets with a very strong diet plan with an exercise routine. Only if, the individuals start taking care of themselves, they can put pressure on the respected bodies to act in accordance with the norms.