In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

In some countries in Europe, some children between the ages of 11 to 13 go to vocational schools while others go to schools that offer an academic curriculum. I believe both types of schools can offer internship opportunities or talks by people from respective industries to prepare their students for the world of work. For schools that teach students practical skills, like sewing, baking, design and technology, schools can provide internship opportunities for an adolescent to shadow a senior person in the respective industries. This will allow them to understand the necessary skills for the job. Schools can also do a learning styles assessment to assess if the student is a kinaesthetic, auditory, visual learner. The children will then be able to find a profession that can appeal to their approach to learning. With these position placements, it will equip them with skills that can be related in helping them find a job as a seamstress, baker, carpenter or in the media industry. The other alternative is for schools to teach children more academic skills as some may be more inclined to work in professional jobs. Institutions can invite lecturers from various industries to teach students the necessary skills to survive in the industry. For example, in the medical field, skills such as precision, attention to details can be shared with students. This gives them a better idea of what to expect when they decide to study in the medical line and whether it is in line with their personality. In conclusion, schools can offer both paths of education to their students with internship opportunities and learning styles assessment offered to them. The children are the ones who will choose them based on their strengths and learning styles. With support from schools, children will be able to find jobs that will ensure their survival and growth as a person.