Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Several individuals feel that adolescents and teenagers should participate in social events whereas some feel that the time is dependant on the child to utilise. While both are equally beneficial that contribute to overall well-being, having an allocated time to indulge on their own would pave way for much needed relaxation from stress. By choosing to join in organised charitable events, children aquire developmental and social skills. Futhermore, this builds character and encourages positive values such as compassion and morals to be incullcated in these young minds. For example, by rendering assistance in nursing homes and through the social interactions that take place allows the child to contribute to society. Hence, through these activities, one could benefit greatly by having such enriching programs for young people. On one hand, spare time could be planned out and used to help destress through meditation. This allows the child to have sometime on their own and to relax from the mounting, demanding schoolwork and this is holistic as well. Research has shown that by setting aside 5 to 10 minutes in a day reduces stress hormones by 50 per cent and this allows the child to balance their emotion through mindfullness. Therefore, schedulling and allocating a slot where children are allowed to destress is vital in recent times. In conclusion, while it is essential to contribute to society and develop character, having time alone is equally vital for young minds. By having co-curriculum planned out efficiently, children would benefit greatly and would progress to achieving adults.