Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

There is an array of intriguing subjects been taught at school. Although some people believe history is the most imperative subject amongst all, I would argue, in this essay, that topics like science and technology are of greater value. On the one hand, people who are of the opinion that history is the most vital subject in schools might argue that it portrays the rich by-gone era and is filled with a lot of teachings. It showcases distinctive cultures and a number of historic feats achieved which has impacted the world we see today and may interest students. For example, the Mughal empire in the yesteryear, had an exuberant lifestyle and had built various monuments across the country, which are now interest to many. This field of study has careers namely, archaeologists, historians, archivists etc. On the other hand, my view is that subjects like science and technology are much more valuable than history in recent times. Being in an age of innovation, it is crucial for one to be aware and have hands-on experience to technologies around and help to make the world a better place. For instance, professions like doctors and engineers have contributed to about 90% of the developments of societies by creating better medications and dependable places to live. Subject like these will encourage students to become more dynamic in nature and help the betterment of societies. In conclusion, although subject like history may be of interest to some, I firmly believe topics like science and technology is more essential as it helps students to become better and responsible citizens.