Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some that students in tertiary institutions should choose their course of interest whilst others believe that courses like science and technology with future benefits should be chosen. This essay agrees that undergraduates should be allowed to study a subject in science and technology owing to its numerous benefits. On one hand, it is thought by some that undergraduates at the point of deciding their course of study, should be allowed to choose any course they like. This has proven to be effective because students become productive and more devoted to their studies. For example, a survey conducted by the Cambridge University shows that 80% of highly performing students are those who made their choice of course to study. On the other hand, others believe that students should be allowed to study courses of future advantage such as science and technology and I agree. Undergraduates who study these courses are highly sort after as their skills are greatly needed in a wide range of industries such as Medicine, Information technology and genetic engineering. In addition, these individuals earn higher salaries as compared to those who choose a course based on their interest. A prime example, is the advertisement section of the guardian newspaper which usually publish vacancies from hospitals in need of Doctors,Nurses and Pharmacists on a daily basis. To conclude, while some peope believe that students should study any course of their choice, I agree with others who are of the opinion that they should study courses of future benefits like science and technology owing to availability of employment and the attractive pay it brings.