It has been said that reading for pleasure is better in developing imagination and language skills than watching TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that reading and learning process has changed since the introduction of Television. The search for information has become easier and amusing, and the presence of innumerable channels has expedited data availability. Though the delivery mechanism has become more interactive, they have not yet become a substitute for reading books or newspapers for giving wings to fantasy and linguistic capabilities. To commence with, there are an array of reasons why the conventional way of reading is more popular. First of all, reading has become an ardent habit for many people. Everyone, whether young or old of from affluent or middle class enjoys reading. Furthermore, books or newspapers are the cheapest, easiest and portable medium for information. Books or newspapers are so handy that the mere flip of the pages can make you omniscient. Reading help brim individuals vocabulary through a variety of expressions used. Pictures while reading is the icing on the cake as they tend to attract everyone and allows them to infer and interpret in their own meaningful ways. However, undoubtedly, technology has given radical approach for imagination and linguistic skills, for examples, video can provide the full and clear view to reading besides that can be recorded and repeated as per the owner. However, reading infuses heterogeneity to express ideas, which can take the reader to an emotional time travel. In summary, the advancements in technology are irrefutable and there would be no place to technophobic in this ever-advanced modern world, yet, according to me, reading has more benefits than drawbacks.