Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and giver your own opinion

In today’s society, with several and a countless number of possible activities, the way in which children spend their free time is becoming a hotly debated topic. While some state that parents should encourage their children to use their free time as they may prefer, others argue that this valuable time should be used in their development by taking part in organized group activities. Considering these as two multi-exclusive possibilities, I strongly support the idea of freedom, in which the children will be able to decide, by themselves, how to enjoy their free time. Although both views are valid, I strongly believe that the possibility of choice will help in the discovering of personal choices, as well as manage their own time. On one hand, there are several benefits that line in favour of children using their free time in organized groups. Although many might argue that it can be considerably difficult to be part of groups with unknown children, this action might help in their development by leaning other things, as well as encourage social interaction with the other children of the group. In addition, for those that are the only child, for example, there is the possibility of spending some time with others of the same age. In fact, a recent study has shown that 95% of children with social disturbing occurs in families with an only child. Therefore, such activity during free time might help in the acquisition of many aspects that will be useful during other phases of life. On the other hand, children spend a considerable amount of their time being told what to do, and when to do. Due to this fact, giving them the freedom to use their free time as they would like, it is, of a certain perspective, a way to promote conscious about their own choices and preferences in life. If we always say what they should do while young, when teenagers or adults, they might not be able to consider their preferences and decide when such an opportunity is given. Many phycologists point out the tendency in us to reflect our childhood choices when adults. To summarise, as childhood is a part of life when we discover likes and dislikes, choices and preferences, I am extremely in favour of allowing the free option for children on how to use the free time.