Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

It is often believed that college pupils are supposed to major in the field they are interested in. On the contrary, it is also considered that they are meant to choose the domain of study based on what will be popular in the upcoming years. I believe it should be dependent on one's tastes. In this essay, I will try to showcase some of the reasons for my opinion. On the one hand, it can be said that an individual works on the field he majored in for quite a long duration of their lives. So, it is crucial to ensure that the time spent is enjoyed and is not filled with monotony. Besides, working on something that a person is passionate about helps them grow professionally in their careers. On the other hand, when it comes to staying relevant in the future, it can be taken as a wise decision to go for a domain of study related to science and technology, such as Information Technology or Medicine. Putting efforts in these fields helps a student to have a work-life that is viewed as more successful than other contemporary fields. In my point of view, no matter how appealing a major may sound in terms of trends and remunerations, it is still better to opt for something that one is genuinely passionate about. Because, even though university graduates can earn high salaries, they will not be able to get the mental satisfaction if they do not find themselves contributing to the realm of knowledge they once felt the attraction too. In conclusion, both decisions of choosing a specialty in tertiary education based on its appeal and popularity have logical reasons to be made. At the end of the day, it is just a path that is picked by the individuals.