In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution?

The Globalization and Industrialization brought us so many advantages, such as development in people's lifestyle on a larger scale, advanced communication and technology in our palm. But, it also disrupted the environment within a couple of decades. People often suggest Governments shall collect tax from private vehicle owners to reduce traffic and invest to improve public transports. We can have a discussion on the advantages and disadvantages of imposing high levy in order to reduce the traffic. Firstly, the idea to impose a high tariff on private cars could reduce the movement significantly and thus, traffic can be under control. Secondly, the wide coverage of public transport service can help the population to get the habit of using common transport modes, such as rail and the bus. For Instance, a bus can carry 40 headcounts, which occupies not more than the double size of a car, which is used by an individual. Lastly, it would also help to boost our economy and to be non-reliant on fossil fuels, such as hydrocarbon and coal. The private transit also needed for some reasons, such as after an increase in populace, the residential areas were expanded widely and thus everyone cannot rely on public transportation. Firstly, it could create a negative impact by forcing everyone to use the single mode of the move, thus everyone should stay within the city limit. For instance, in Singapore, the road duty for a car is one of the highest in the world, where the tax will cost you same the price of your car, Although Government implemented the regulation in order to reduce the number of cars, it enormously increased city community, thus real estate has become expensive. Secondly, this evolution definitely affects the citizens by increasing financial burden. At last, various mode of transit also to be considered, such as road, water and rail to get well prepared before the shift. As a conclusion, larger populace considers such movement by the nation would be cumbersome because there are many factors to be considered before implementation, such as infrastructure and wide coverage of common transit.