Getting promotions are one of the biggest motivators for hard work in the modern workplace. Why are people so driven to receive promotions? What other factors motivate people to work hard?

Rising through the ranks is one of the greatest incentives for staff to perform harder in their current organizations. The primary reason for such a behaviour is the monetary benefit that comes as a part of their promotions. The second biggest factor which can play a pivotal role is the opportunity to undertake diverse job functions. This essay will not only discuss these points in greater detail but also support it with relevant examples. Firstly, monetary growth gives a push to employee confidence and propel him to perform harder. Whenever he gets promoted, there is a drastic change in his compensation, which directly affects his standard of living. He is now able to afford things which earlier was just a part of his imagination. Subsequently, the desired increment also boosts his social stature among his friends and family. For instance, as per the study published in HBR on 20th September 2019, people's propensity to purchase white goods increases with the subsequent growth in their respective organizations. Secondly, an opportunity to work on diverse job roles can propel staff to give their best shot. For holding vital positions in a company, they need to have experience in various departments that will be relevant for their desired profile. Moreover, it also helps them to continue with their learning curve, undertake newer activities, and evolve as a person who is suitable to take greater responsibilities. For example, if someone wants to be a CEO of a company, he needs to have relevant experience in the field of Sales, Distribution, Marketing, and Finance. To conclude, an increase in annual compensation as a part of the promotion is the driving force for employee motivation. However, the opportunity to work in diverse fields can instigate a few employees who aspire to hold larger roles in organizations.