One way to reduce the problem of traffic congestion is by increasing the tax on private vehicles. Do you think this is a feasible solution?

There is no doubt that, presently, traffic congestion is so severe. It is sometimes thought that rising private vehicle tax is the best method to control the issue. I strongly believe this method cannot be successful, instead, this brings huge repercussions. The primary reason why I disagree this is that by increasing taxes it would only prevent the poor people from buying personalised vehicles. This is because the under privilege group is very small, therefore, this increase does not make any difference in the number of cars on the road. For instance, previously, in the certain part of the India, they adopted this strategies, but the result was unsatisfactory, since they extra charges can easily afford by the rich. Alternatively, poor customers, started to purchase used cars, which again created more traffic issues than before. There is no doubt that, presently, traffic congestion is so severe. It is sometimes thought that rising private vehicle tax is the best method to control the issue. I strongly believe this method cannot be successful, instead, this brings huge repercussions. The primary reason why I disagree this is that by increasing taxes it would only prevent the poor people from buying personalised vehicles. This is because the under privilege group is very small, therefore, this increase does not make any difference in the number of cars on the road. For instance, previously, in the certain part of the India, they adopted this strategies, but the result was unsatisfactory, since they extra charges can easily afford by the rich. Alternatively, poor customers, started to purchase used cars, which again created more traffic issues than before.