Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by some people that parents should motivate their children to spend their leisure time by participating in group activities. However, others opine that children should spend their free time in their own way. In my opinion, group learning has more merits as compared to self-learning. To begin with, engaging in crowd activities can enhance youth's social abilities. Interacting with other people in the club can help children to acquire team-work capabilities and they end up gaining a high level of confidence. For example, motivating juveniles to enrol under activities like cricket, painting competitions and arts can help them to gain skills related to coping with the pressure of working in a group and competing with others in a healthy manner. Furthermore, group activities are safe because they are always guided by a supervisor of the team. This helps them to be disciplined which can be beneficial for them in the future. On the other hand, with technological advancement, children generally tend to spend their free time playing video games and browsing the internet. This could have serious implications on their health and they fail to gain basic analytical skills if they are given the liberty to decide their own ways of spending their spare time. For example, as per a recent study conducted by New York University showed that children who participate in team-building activities gain a higher level of confidence than those who learn in isolation. In conclusion, spending time in organization activities can help children to develop collaboration and team effort skills. However, self-learning among children at times can lead them to take wrong paths.