Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

An increasing overpopulation of Earth forces many countries to investigate different ways of tackling this problem. Apparently, citizens need more homes, but it is not always clear whether these buildings should be constructed in existing cities, or perhaps in brand new towns. I believe that the former approach has more benefits compared to the latter one, especially with the infrastructure and job opportunities in mind. Firstly, resolving the overpopulation problem by building new towns is an extremely expensive option. Cities do not emerge out of nowhere Rewrite the sentence do not emerge out of anywhere emerge out of nowhere show examples, they require infrastructure, and it is impossible to start a new town short of developing an extensive transportation network. Many other similar problems would eventually arise in progress, from energy supply to social infrastructure, and each of these problems would cost substantial money on their own. For instance, any house needs not only water and electric power supply, but also a shop and a school in the vicinity. Therefore, it is less expensive and time-consuming to construct new homes in existing cities with pre-existing infrastructure. Secondly, it would be complicated to force internal migration to new cities in order to mitigate population growth. Those living in urban areas are often tied to their work, and they would accept only one reason for moving to another city, namely a better job opportunity. It is highly unlikely, however, that large businesses will invest money in new jobs in uninhabited cities, although governments try to persuade companies to expand their geography by reducing local taxes. Many people, therefore, prefer to stay in overpopulated areas, as there are better career options at hand. Population growth is a major issue in many countries, and it is logical to address it by building new houses in either existing or new cities. However, no matter how tempting it is to start a city from scratch, governments should consider whether they are capable of resolving inevitable financial and social problems that would follow.