The percentage of overweight children in western society has increased by almost 20% in the last ten years. Discuss the causes and effects of this disturbing trend.

7 out of every 10 children are overweight these days. Being overweight has been neglected so much that people nowadays don't even realise its lethal effects. There are several factors responsible for this problem which I would like to explicate in this essay and discuss some possible repercussions. To begin with, today's generation is so fond of junk food that the importance of healthy food is slowly deteriorating and its positive effects with it. Every child is drawn to fast food that results in many of them being obese as outdoor activities are next to NIL. Most of the people are not even aware of its negative effects. Therefore, the lack of awareness is one of the reasons why being obese is being normalised. As a result, this leads to a lot of health problems. For examples, they are more likely to suffer from hypertension, heart diseases which are life-threatening. In addition to this, these children can be bullied by their peers, which can affect their mental health. Furthermore, they are not likely to be selected in any sports team they love due to their weight, which might result in growing self-hate and highly demotivated behaviour. After scrutinizing the matter properly, it can be concluded that factors like poor diet and seated-lifestyle (due to advances in lifestyle) have led to an increase in overweight children, and this may cause serious mental and physical health conditions.