Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say this information is relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a fact that we go under a microscope when it comes to job interviews. Employers want to know all about the employee's life and personal details in order to understand whether they are appropriate for the position. In my point of view, asking those details would be helpful when hiring but they should not be the only main point. All aspects of individuals' personality are important for him or her to succeed in a certain type of jobs. To be able to differ who is compatible and who is not for the company,there are various questions needs to be asked and answered in the interview. For example, if the position requires long travels frequently, a woman with a month old baby won't manage to do that. In addition to that, this information can give the hiring parties hints about what kind of a person they are facing. For example, an introvert who do not enjoy social gatherings and spend most of his/her time reading or gardening alone won't be suitable for the human resources department. On the other hand, all these data can be deflecting or blinding in terms of picking the right person. Sometimes the person may seem irrelevant by judging them on paper but hiring them can turn out pretty well. At the end of the day, we are dealing with human beings and whatever says about them on the piece of paper will not be enough to describe even 1% of them. Furthermore, someone that seems underqualified for the job may surprise you with their enthusiasm and hard work. In conclusion, these data are useful and certainly relevant for job interviews. However, it shouldn't be the only criteria and just focusing on what's written in a paper may result in misjudgement thus making mistakes.