Rising university fees and limited employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and should only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As is observed, the proportion of unemployed graduates is rising over the last years. In order to solve this issue, people argue that universities should change the subjects that are offered to students. They believe that humanities do not prepare them for the job market as well as the more practical subjetcs subject — arguments which I completely disagree with. The theoretical subjects give people the tools they need to understand the world in a critical way. The academic environment should not be just a place to create workers, it must be responsable for teaching how to think, how to be better citizens and in witch way each profession can make the world a greater place to live. In my experience at journalism school, history, philosophy, sociology and many other thems were approuched and became sharply relevant at my daily routine. Furthermore, the unemployment problem is not a consequence of courses programs, it is public policies issues though. Jobs like teaching or writing (that are almost entirely filled by humanitiy humanities matters at graduation) are as much important to society as engeneering or medicine. There should be more opportunities to work at those areas instead of extincting extinction them from the universities. To summarise, I believe arts subjects are the keys to rise critical and responsable citizens and if there are no job opportunities available for the graduates it those areas it is not by changing school programs that this problem will be soved saved. Even there is a hot debate about it, the discussion should go through a different way other than giving less importance to humanities.