Employees sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

As a job seeker being interviewed by the Human Resource Development team of a company, questions that are too personal can be awkward to answer, such as hobbies, interests, or even marital status. When some people disagree with these personal matters being addressed, I strongly believe that some details of our background might be needed due to the making of an employee's work plan. This essay will run you through why personal questions should not be avoided to answer. It is understandable that confidential matters can be too personal to share, therefore, not all people are comfortable with that. Humans are unique, we are all different in our own way, thus, these kinds of questions may trigger the fear of being judged, especially since we know that the atmosphere of recruitment tends to hold formal communication. Additionally, this can lead the job seeker to anxiety, or perhaps the fear of getting rejected by showing too much of our true colours to the recruiters. For example, one of my friends told me he was not being honest to the recruiter when she tried to ask about what he likes to do when he has plenty of leisure time. This happened because of the scare of prejudice that could possibly lead my friend to be depicted as someone who is lazy if he was being brutally honest. On the other hand, the importance of this information is quite often overlooked by those who are looking for jobs. All these small details about the soon-to-be employees help them to arrange work plans. Take my experience as an intern in one of the local TV channels. The recruiter asked me whether I was keen on cooking or not, little did I know, it was her move to set my work tasks to manage the cooking show every Monday Morning. She then asked me if I was single or married and I now understand that she had considered sending me on a business trip to Hawaii if I were nobody's wife. In conclusion, all these opinions of mine reflect my strong position that not all personal information that is given during the interview steers you downward in your career life, thus, I agree that these types of queries are nothing to be concerned about.