Some people work for the same organisation for a lifetime. Others think it is better to work for different organisations. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are different views about career management. Whereas some people claim that it is better to stay in the same organisation for a long period of time, others object to that picture and argue that working for different organisations can bring better results. I tend to agree with the latter because, from my point of view, the challenge of changing jobs from time to time can bring a wealth of experience for a professional. On the one hand, it is widely believed that having a steady job allows the achievement of long-term plans and social security since there is a constant income. From this perspective, a family can rely on their finances to support their lifestyles, such as education fees, healthcare, travel and daily expenses. Moreover, it sounds reasonable and rational to think that stability means a better and wealthier life for these professionals and it is a situation to aim for. On the other hand, some individuals can find an opportunity to grown and develop new skills, as they vary and enrich their experiences passing through new workplaces and expanding their networks. Besides, these transitional periods can be the perfect moment to review a path and to discover new interests and vocation. As they exercise their skills, they also are accumulating knowledge, recombining possibilities and making new contacts, who can offer them letters of recommendation and value their abilities. As far as I am concerned, a switch in the course might be natural and encouraged as a way of development for the professional and the organisations as well, which will be benefited by the diversity of their teams. Furthermore, the global economy has been changing as much as the young population is re-thinking what it means to have a successful life. Short-term contracts and part-time jobs are becoming the standards in a demanding capitalist system that encourages competitiveness. Therefore, the ability to be flexible and adaptable might be the best strategy to remain active. To sum up, in my way of thinking, staying in the same company or position is a risky choice for people that care about stability, given its fragility nowadays. Multiple experiences should be adopted as career management towards professional accomplishment.