Nowadays people make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people think this is good. Others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In recent years more and more people tend to make new friends through social networks and internet chat groups. Some people argue that this could be a good habit while others think that face-to-face interaction is essential. I strongly agree with this last statement for several reasons. Firstly, networks and social media are helping people to connect with each other. Older people can search and connect with their old friends, while teenagers and children can use these as a mean to study as they can work together in a project from their houses. Furthermore, a huge number of children prefer to make new friends online rather than in real life, as they can connect with people that share the same interests in common subjects. For example, recent studies suggest that nearly 60% of children prefer to meet friends online rather than meet friends outside or at school. Secondly, face-to-face interaction is essential for the full development of children. Children that meet each other learn how to deal with the other members of the group and this could be useful for their future. Furthermore, talking with someone face-to-face permit to people to be more connected to each other as people are experiencing and living the same situation. For example, when I was young I used to play in a football team, from where I learned how to deal with relationship and how to connect with others. To conclude, children should try to avoid using social media and instant chats so often and try to go out and play outside with other friends. By doing so, we could guarantee a better lifestyle and a healthy life for our children.