There are many things that can motivate people to perform well in their work. These can include the salary, job satisfaction or the chance to help others. What do you feel is the best motivation to do well at work? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Many people today earn a living by having a job and sometimes they even have to work two jobs. However, there is a myriad of things that can influence an individual's attitude towards work, such as the amount earned in wages, satisfaction at work and the opportunity to render assistance to others. Moreover, there are a couple of factors that can motivate a person to perform well at the workplace and this essay will examine these factors. First of all, teamwork is one of the ways by which an individual can be motivated to perform well at work. This is because teamwork fosters collaboration and recognition of shared efforts. Many organisations today stress the importance of teamwork as one of the motivators of brilliant employee performance. For example, many projects today are often completed by a team, as this can ease the stress and burden that one person may face if the task is done singularly. Additionally, another motivator rests on the ability of an employee to be able to make decisions and think creatively without fear of being reprimanded. Nevertheless, it is also important to acknowledge the amount of salary a person earns as an important motivator. Many people take up jobs because of the amount of money they will earn at the end of the month. This is because they feel that once they have money to take of their needs, all their problems will be solved. For example, people who work in oil rigs earn a lot of money, although the work is very strenuous, they do it because of the huge amounts they earn. Also, sometimes apart from wages being a huge motivator, the ability to be considered for promotion opportunities is also another driver. So people work hard and perform well so that they can be considered for promotions by their managers or supervisors. Furthermore, people who do not consider money as their primary criterion, look for job satisfaction. Research shows that employees who are satisfied with their work are able to showcase outstanding results. In conclusion, job satisfaction is of paramount importance, as one spends one - third of his time at work and if the mental state of a person is not satisfactory, it can affect job performance. However, wages earned should match a persons work effort and performance.