Write about the following topic: People nowadays prefer to interact online (e.g. do shopping, chat with friends) rather than talking to other people face-to-face. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

It is said that people these days are more interested in communicating online, buying items online, or chatting with friends, than engaging directly with each other. There are some apparent reasons for this kind of trend corresponding to the advanced technology. From my perspective, this could be either good and bad development depending on specific circumstances which will be explained further in the next paragraphs. To begin with the possible reasons why people are more and more into the social network, it is because of the convenience this kind of technology brings along, in other words, nowadays people do not need to arrange a get together with their friends, with the aid of social media, they are now able to set up group conversations online so that each member can get involved and easily connect to each other. Secondly, writing in the shopping rationale, I am convinced that buying merchandise on digital markets could aid to save our time to find the desired goods to purchase compared with going to the supermarkets. Yet these conveniences had paradoxically created more distance between each of us. Nevertheless, it is perhaps up to some cases to decide if this is a good or bad development. For example, if people take advantage of keeping in touch with their friends living remotely, this could be a crystal example of the positive. On the other hand, being addicted is an inevitable result as an instance of the negative effect if they overuse social media, especially for children. In conclusion, I beg that this kind of evolution is modernizing our life much better, more convenient day by day, nonetheless, this also severely harms us if we do not use this consciously.