Email has had a huge impact on professional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive. Do the disadvantages of using email outweigh the advantages?

E-mails, nowadays are an integral part of our lives. Be it in our workplace or when communicating with our kith and kin, e-mails have certainly changed the way we share our thoughts. However, e-mails and its related technologies come with its own pros and cons. To highlight one of the advantages of e-mails in our professional workplaces, it ensures no task is stuck because there is a lack of communication. As opposed to a phone call, when we send out an e-mail, we can always expect that the recipient would respond at his/her earliest convenience. To quote one such scenario, if we need an urgent approval for a change in a website, we could drop an email, tag it as “Urgent”, and most likely the receiver would action on it immediately. Now considering Change the form of the verb consider show examples the advantages of social e-mails; back in the day one used to write letters, post them, and then comes the long wait to get a reply. This tedious process has been eradicated with the establishment of e-mail communications. Much like the other side of a coin, the cons of communicating via e-mails have left people void of the experiences that comes along with an in-person or face-to-face conversation. Present day, people do not know the joy and satisfaction one gets when they gather in groups and spend time together. Children too have embraced this virtual lifestyle and are susceptible to becoming introverts who enjoy their own company. To conclude the advantages certainly overpower the disadvantages, e-mails in many ways has also brought people closer and ensures that no matter where in the world you are, you could stay in touch with anyone with just the click of a button. To add to this versatility, it only takes seconds for your thoughts and feelings to reach the recipient.