Recent research has shown that within the European Union the largest difference between the earnings of men and women exists in the UK. Many equal rights campaigners believe that immediate action should be taken to close the gender pay gap. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Researchers have recently revealed that within the European Union, the UK has the greatest gender pay hole. Supporters of the equal rights movement urge people to take action to eliminate this difference in income between males and females, whereas others object this sudden change. This essay discusses both sides of the debate, followed by my personal opinion. Advocates of equal earnings of men and women base their arguments on two main reasons. To commence, the closing of the gender pay gap will encourage female labour and benefit the economy as a whole. As women feel like their work is valued, they are bound to increase their productivity and dedication, resulting in better quality human resources for corporations and ultimately stimulating the growth of the economy. Moreover, the increase in the number of financially independent women also reduces poverty, minimizing the burden on the budget of the nation. Furthermore, by taking actions to narrow the gender pay gap, one is promoting social justice, which is essential for the development of the community. For instance, a female has a passion for astronomy, a male dominant field can now feel welcomed to join and contribute her talent to our world. Although few people are aware, the person who wrote the coding for spaceships that took humans to the moon was a woman, providing/offering/establish compelling evidence for why social justice is crucial for the progress of mankind. However, opponents of paying women equal wage insist that it is challenging to immediately close the gender pay gap. Firstly, such a sudden change in economic infrastructure could put a strain on the country’s resources, leading to/causing the reduction in workforce. This could cause protests and unwanted controversies. Additionally, rewarding males and females equally could lead to the neglect of children. Since women are more motivated to pursue their career, their children would receive much less attention, which is disadvantageous to their upbringing. In conclusion, I agree with the advocates for closing the gender pay hole, as by doing so, not only females but our entire society benefits on various aspects. However, the process of paying women and men equally should be carried out moderately to avoid unnecessary difficulties.