Occasionally, students in elementary school are allowed to advance to the next grade even though they have not successfully completed the lower grade. Advocates of “social promotion” think that keeping a child in a grade for longer than a year hurts his or her development and self-esteem. Do you agree or disagree with the idea of social promotion? Use logical arguments and specific examples to support your opinion

Since the last few decades, the primary school children have the liberty to jump into a next class without completing their academics because some experts take a view that staying in one grade for a long term may hinder the holistic development of children. However, I totally disagree with the above-mentioned notion with my detailed arguments in the following paragraphs. To begin with, without taking excellence in one grade would affect children's academic performances at the secondary level or at tertiary level. Because the junior grades are the foundation which enables the children to understand the complex subject matter. If they will not complete their initial classes with the good scores, then the further educational process would be a herculean task to complete. For instance, the children who do not know proper calculations could not solve the multiplication and division of the numbers. Thus, to move the children from one grade to another without considering their mastery on the subject is a completely ridiculous idea. Moreover, some students intentionally not perform well in their initial school years as they know they will be transferred to the next class without taking any efforts. I take the view, this approach will ultimately make the children careless towards their studies. Also, they will not attend their school properly if they will be allowed to sit in the upcoming level of the study. For instance, in India, since the law is passed that no one will fail from 3rd standard to 6th, the attendance of students dropped by 50%. Overall, ignorance is another point which needs to be considered, if school authorities allow the students to sit in the following class regardless of their grades. To conclude, there are several educational institutes who do not consider the academic abilities of the elementary school students as they believe that keep the students in the same class could affect their psychological growth. As far as I concerned, I opined the viewpoint and described my perception in detail.