Some think that it is more important for children to engage in outdoor activities instead of playing video games. To what extent to you agree or disagree?

Many are of the view that children must play more outdoor games rather than video games. In my opinion,it is true because, being outdoors helps one to developmentally and physically as well as, video games are addictive in nature. Firstly, doing outdoor activities means interacting with nature and refreshing ourselves. This is beneficial for children’s mental development as they are their developing stage. Playing outdoor games helps children to avoid stress and focus on their studies. Going outside is also helpful in physical development because, we are exposed to sunlight which is a source of vitamin D, this makes our bones strong. For example, according to a study conducted in America people who were more involved in outdoor activities had positive vibes and were tension-free whereas, those who were busy indoors developed stress and some other bone-related diseases. Secondly, the most common characteristic of video games is they are addictive. In other words, children who tend to play more such games get addicted to it and their ultimate goal is to play it. Consequently, they will start spending more time on such games reducing their interaction with the outside world, which adversely impacts their communicative skills. Thus, if children lose these abilities at such a young age, they would have to face a lot of difficulties in reaching adulthood. Additionally, this addiction also ruins their interest in studying, which in turn affects their future. In conclusion, admittedly playing video games improves children’s critical as well as logical thinking but, going outside is useful for their overall development. So, in my opinion,parents should strive to reduce their children’s screen time.