Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because universities are in different places. What are the merits and demerits of both situations?

Earning higher education is an important step in the life of many young people. For a huge portion of persons, this stage is characterised by tremendous changes as moving to another city for educational opportunities. But it is not the only option for students. There are many cases when youngsters decide to stay in native town because a local college or a university nearby is convenient enough not to move to the new place. And both scenarios have good as well as bad features. Let's take a closer look at the advantages and disadvantages of the first scene when a young person has to settle for several years away from the homeland to aim a scholar degree. First of all, this situation can help some people to become independent. When I faced the necessity to live alone in another city, I have learned how to be a grown-up and take responsibility for my own life very quickly. For now, I recall the period as very stressful but fruitful. The reverse side of the coin can tell us that many people are too homesick to overcome the stress. In the most severe cases, these circumstances can lead to depression. For such kind of persons, being away from family brings nothing except harm. In contrast, some students decide to continue their education without moving out. It is a very comfortable situation. They do not need to arrange to move from one place to another, do not have to spend extra money on renting apartments or adapt to living in a university's dorm. So, usually, they have an extra amount of time and money, which they can invest in something useful or interesting. For example, my brother decided to stay in a parent's home for the study. Thus, he was able to earn a degree within faster timings because he was taking extra credits, which I was not able to take simultaneously. It had a positive impact on his career. But on the other hand, some people cannot spend extra resources useful way and the less stressful situation makes them lose focus on important things. Such people can spend evenings and weekends on parties and handing out with friends, which won't give advantages for a further career. In conclusion, I want to sum up that both scenarios have their pros and cons. You can benefit or fail any of them if you will not manage your resources very well. For the scenario with moving to another city, you need to manage your emotional resources, for the hometown's option, you have to spend your opportunities wisely.