Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and intrests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this infomation may be relevant and useful. Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, It is very quiet common that organizations collect job seekers confidential data before conducting an interview. Some recruiters feel that this data is useful. I agree with that view. In my opinion, personal information gives a lot of insight into job applicants personality. However, some people feel that this data is confidential, therefore companies do not ask those details. To begin with, employers ask applicants to provide more than just academic or professional information for accessing the prospective candidates, so that they can select the right person the appropriate position. Hobbies and interests are the keys to understanding someone's personality. For example, whether the candidate prefers to work independently or in a group could be an indicator of someone's performance. Moreover, An employer may also benefit from knowing a potential employee's marital status. For instance, if an organization is looking to hire an air hostess who is supposed to work odd hours and even on weekends, it does not make a sense for them to hire a woman with young kids. On the other side, some people insist that employers should not ask for personal information. According to them, the recruiter may use personal data to discriminate against an employee. To illustrate, an employer may decide not to hire an applicant whose religious or political ideologies clash with theirs. Nonetheless, many of those believe that job applicants tend to make some hobbies and interests just to impress employers. In conclusion, I believe that personal information is useful for the employer because in most cases it is a very important indicator of a person's personality and his comfort level with the job. However, there is a small risk that the employer could you this data against an employee.