Some employers find that their new employees lack in basic interpersonal skills such as lack of ability to work with colleagues as a team. What are the causes of this problem? Suggest solutions.

Every time someone starts a new job it is important to know how to behave and how to relate to the other people who work there as well. Most times, bosses often complain about the recently hired staff because of their incapacity to work with others. In this essay I intend to discuss the possible reasons that may cause this issue and to point out some solutions that could be helpful. For staters, if a company decides to hire somebody who has never worked before, this will most likely result in relationship problems. In other words, in order for one to know how to work with other people, one needs to acquire experience in regard to the work that needs to be performed. Moreover, that person will need to get acquaintanted with the workplace environment and also to the people there. However, if the newly employed person has already had other experiences, he or her should come with some interpesonal skills background. In that case, if that employee arrived at the company without social skills there must have been a problem during the interview in which the absence of interpersonal abilities was not observed. Taking those reasons into consideration, some solutions might take place to either avoid this problem to arise or to make an effort to solve it. First, the interviewing process should be thourough. That is, as long as the employer can perceive the candidate's social innabilities instabilities, he could probably avoid risking to give the job to someone that would cause problems. Next, if the hiring mistake has been made and fireing that person is not an option, the company could put in place an institutional programs to develop interpersonal skills such as trainning on how to listen to others and on how to respect people's opinions. To summarise, I do believe that the workplace is an ambience where conflicts may happen and people need to learn how to deal with other's particularities. Since interpersonal issues may be evidentiated due to a possible fail after the hiring or because the employee may have difficulties to socialize, the company should know the importance of developing their personnel skills. Nonetheless, if those measures are adopted I do believe that those problems could be avoided.