Alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, wave and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal, oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In recent decades, renewable energy has become one of the most debated subjects all over the globe. Some say that the costs of producing environmental-friendly electricity are too high and we should not rely on this alternative in the future. My opinion is that our planet needs protection and traditional fuels, like coal, oil and gas are destroying our environment. Firstly, converting to alternative energy sources is a step our societies need to take in order to tackle global warming and lower our carbon footprint. A lot of research has shown that fossil fuels contribute massively to the greenhouse effect and in a few years, the consequences will be irreversible. Moreover, levels of air pollution in developed urban areas are extremely high because people still have petrol or diesel cars, hence the conversion to electric or hybrid vehicles is much needed. Secondly, natural reserves, such as coal, oil, and gas are depleted every year and as a result, in a few decades, these resources will no longer be a viable option for humankind. Furthermore, extracting these resources means that we have to exploit our environment even more by mining coal and building oil stations offshore. Consequently, we pollute more by trying to harvest our planet’s underground riches, therefore, a solution must be found rapidly. On the other hand, many renewable electricity options come with great expenses for both governments and individuals. That is because the costs for the construction and the maintenance of alternative electricity power plants are really high. Many power plants, such as solar and wind turbines, are really expensive and difficult to build. For instance, constructing a power station in the ocean to harness the wind's energy, is both laborious and unprofitable in the long run. That is why a lot of governments are still fond of the idea of using the earth’s resources for producing electricity. To conclude, I believe that even if high expenses is still an existing impediment in developing renewable energy stations throughout the world, governments should put much more effort into trying to find cost-efficient alternatives and convert most of our electrical energy into an eco-friendly one.