In many cities the use of video cameras in public places in being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

A growing number of closed-circuit cameras are being used in lots of towns in order to decline the crime rates. This way of monitoring is believed, by some people,to be limited because it can violet citizens’ privacy.Even though such security systems has its own disadvantages,it’s plus points outweigh the potential drawbacks. There are two main reasons why people might disapprove of the use of video cameras. Firstly, such means of surveillance can violet ordinary people’s privacy. In other words,residents tend to have their daily life and freedom without being monitored by authorities or private security firms or facing any kind of restriction. Secondly,another argument against the prolification of CCTV cameras is that they are using as an ulternative to police officers. This replacement can lead the streets not to be a safer place. Despite drawbacks mentioned above,I believe that the use of cameras in public areas is a positive measure. Such devices are being used as a tool of survulation to deter criminals from commiting unti until -social behaviours.Since such means of monitoring are recording everything happening in public places,offenders are less likely to commit aggressive behaviours or any other types of crimes because criminals are aware of such systems and the potential consequences of commiting crimes in front of them,which are probably prison sentences. therefore it might lead them not to offend crime. For instance,statistics show that the rate of criminal actions has reduced 50 per cent in places which have camera compare with similar streets which do not have. To conclude,It is undeniable that technology has developed and the high-tech video cameras have been invented which can be considered both as a positive or negative development.Despite the fact that this restrict people’s freedom and it might make street unsafe,I believe that it’s advantages overweight disadvantages.