With the development of the social media more and more of youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation.

We live in an era where everyone has access to unlimited use of the internet and even the youngsters are not left out. While the social media platform has been a means for self-expression, the younger generation have abused its use to chat and socialize with friends they met online which could lead to a risky situation. This essay would discuss two effective measures or solutions that can be put in place to curb this practice. Firstly, young ones need to be monitored by their parents or guardians while using the internet, thus their day-to-day activities on the web must be regulated and also a time limit must be put in place to deter wrongful usage this medium. For instance, children should only be allowed to use the internet for an assignment or research-related purposes. For this reason, they should be discouraged from spending countless hours on social sites such as Facebook, Instagram and Twitter. Therefore, more priority should be placed on their studies as against engaging in frivolities online. Secondly, youngsters need to be educated about the unforeseen dangers associated with the use of social media, hence they need to know that, not all that glitters is gold. They ought to be aware that apart from meeting friends online, they can all meet dangerous people such as online scammers or rapist who are ready to entice or deceive them so as to fall victim to their atrocities. For example, children need to be informed that a lot of people on the platform put up a false impression of themselves in order to attract gullible youths. To sum up, the younger generation would be better off if they can implement and abide by these solutions. Not only will they be cautious about the kind of friends they make online, but they would also be well informed about the potential hazards of using social media.