Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Others feel they are an opportunity for businesses.

Some are of the belief that any prospective reforms to combat climate change will necessarily be injurious to businesses. In my opinion, despite the marginal market for eco-friendly companies, this is largely true. Environmentalists often argue that green businesses can be profitable. There are numerous examples from all over the world of corporations excelling in fields such as eco-friendly foods, cars, energy and fashion. For instance, Tesla has become one of the largest automobile manufacturers over the last decade with a unique focus on stylish electronic cars. Their success is by far the greatest so far in the emerging sector of green energy consumer products and will doubtlessly inspire a generation of entrepreneurs to view protecting the environment as a potential catalyst for growth rather than a deterrent to profits. However, the examples above are still dwarfed by most industries and governmental regulation will surely hurt large and small businesses. In the past, well-intentioned environmental policy has failed to take into account the far-reaching impact of even the simplest stipulations. For example, when nations band together to sign treaties such as the recent Paris Accords, nearly all countries eventually fail to live up to the standards laid out because of the economic downsides and how that could affect their popularity domestically. As soon as one nation begins to fall short of their commitment, other countries have no choice but to also prioritise corporations over the environment for fear of losing power in later elections. In conclusion, though there is some potential in green business models, they will always have dire economic repercussions. This does not make them less justified but it is an important consideration to temper expectations of progress.