In many cities the use of video cameras in public places is being increased in order to reduce crime, but some people believe that these measures restrict our individual freedom. Do the benefits of increased security outweigh the drawbacks?

Electronic video surveillance in public places is rapidly gaining its popularity in the metropolis for the fight against crime. On the other hand, there are few instances where such systems became the reason for the breach of an individual's privacy. Although, I believe that video surveillance is essential to curb the crime whereas there are some drawbacks of such amendments as well. To commence with, with the accelerated growth of crime rates in cities. It's practically impossible for the police system to keep a watch on every nook and corner of the town manually. Since, majority of such instances takes place during the graveyard hours and it is neither feasible nor efficient to perform manual patrolling in all the suspicious areas round the clock. Hence, such systems are being considered as a substitute these days. In India, these additional measures are helpful in solving cases like chain snatching, vehicle theft and many more and sending the culprits behind the bars. In a recent report published by Delhi Police there has been a decrease of thirty per cent in chain snatching incidents since the government has installed security cameras locally. However, such techniques have been used as a tool for privacy breach on an individual level. furthermore, the manual tracking of the recorded videos leaves individual freedom at stake. Recently, Kolkata police registered a case in which one traffic constable was found guilty of stalking a girl using the recording of the security camera installed outside the girl's house. To conclude, installation of security cameras in public places comes with tremendous advantages and few drawbacks as well but the advantages can easily outweigh the drawbacks.