In some countries an increasing number of children are overweigh as a result of eating too much fast food. It is necessary for governments to ban selling this kind of food in schools. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Obesity in children is a growing concern in some parts of the world and much of it is attributed to unhealthy eating habits. Since, a child spends a large portion of their time at school there is an increasing demand for the government to take necessary steps to improve the kind of food being sold in schools. Let us take a look at some issues that fast food causes and how applying policies to stop selling of such items could benefit the students. Fast food in comparison to home cooked meals has no nutritional value. Such food products are usually filled with sugar, unhealthy sources of oil, and other processed ingredients. A high sugar content in food items is known to cause anxiety in students and the oil from unnatural sources that is added to junk food increases the bad cholesterol levels. Replacing such food items in the school with healthier freshly made meals would not only provide better nutritional value but would also allow for keeping fat levels low thereby decreasing the obesity in children. Apart from the nutritional value concerns of processed food there is also an issue related to the additives and preservatives that are added to such products. Many of these ingredients are known to cause life threatening diseases. A recent study has shown that MSG which is a very common additive in most junk food items causes cancer. Similarly, some ingredients are known to cause damage to the kidneys and the liver. In conclusion, keeping in view of all the side effects of junk food and the amount of time a child spends in school I feel there is no denial in the fact that the government should start creating policies to stop the selling of fast food in schools. After all a school is a place for education and by making children aware about the ill effects of junk food the government and institutions can play a major in shaping a healthy future for the students.