Some think that climate change reforms will negatively affect business. Others feel they are an opportunity for businesses. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Climate change reform in modern society has received a boost among environmentalists in recent days. Some claim that this campaign is expected to have adverse effects on businesses. Others argue that climate change reform will benefit modern industries. In this essay, I will elaborate on both sides and choose my own. First and foremost, how could environmental reforms bring useful results to business and industry? As a possible trend, when companies change their business strategies to protect the environment such as reducing their use of plastics or emission of carbon dioxide, they would create a positive corporate image and cause consumers to imagine that these companies are appropriate to use regardless of their damage to the environment. Therefore, most people would therefore prefer to utilize these businesses. Starbucks became a good example by taking a step forward in trying to preserve the environment by reducing their use of plastic straws, and derived a huge benefit as a result. On the contrary, climate change reforms come at great cost, reducing profits and restricting the development of business and industry. If companies take responsibility for environments economically, they would have to spend much time and money to alleviate pollution, incurring amazing costs. On the top of that, such a pro-environmental campaign would also hinder the development of new products. The constant consideration of problems such as deforestation and water contamination would slow development. To sum up, climate change reforms, although improving a company’s image, are likely to have adverse influences on business and industry. Consequently, businesses have to find out ways of both preventing damage to the environment or receive economic merits.