Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Companies nowadays are keen to know their employees in all aspects. It involves getting to know their personal details, what they like to do in their free time and other engrossments. Getting to know their prospective employee is good in two aspects, one it helps to identify family responsibility and dependency and also hobbies he/she has. However, on the other hand,these background details affect recruitment in fields which are gender and location biased. A positive thing about knowing a person’s life is in a way beneficial. Gone are those days where work was focussed on companies' benefit, keeping aside employees' career goals. Firstly, benefits like half time, work from home, paid time off, caregiver leaves are bliss for people who have elderly parents and kids to take care. This in a way retains individuals trust in a company, wherein professional life commitment is achieved along with personal one. Secondly, getting to know a hobby and interest in a way helps to curb stress-related issues whether arising due to work or at home. For example, Quick Dance sessions in between work, Mediation sessions during lunch breaks or organizing fun activities on Fridays have turned out to be refreshing for everyone. It ultimately helps in the well being of the prospect individual. Additionally, a happy mind achieves more than a stressful one. Furthermore, there are some negative aspects of knowing an individual’s private details. First and foremost thing is, it leads to good profile job rejections as employers to select candidates primarily based on marital status. For instance, HR jobs are mostly focussed on hiring female candidates who are single. Secondly, fields which have gender-specific preference prefer male employees over females. Construction sites, mining sites or even locations with remote access demand jobs where one has to work under stringent conditions. To conclude, one side knowing recruits overall whereabouts let people know that their company care’s for them as a family. A little effort by an organization counts, that keeps a cheerful and easy-going environment at the office. Moreover, the other side has its own drawbacks which require gender-specific roles. Though, in today's era women are at par capable of taking up tasks defeating gender chauvinist.