Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests.Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

Companies nowadays are keen to know their employees in all aspects. Knowing them personally, their interest and other engrossments are useful in many ways. For the prospect employee it is good in two aspects, one it helps to identify family responsibility and dependency a person has and second, gets to determine what are her favourite leisure time activities. However, on the other hand these background details affect recruitment in fields which are gender and location biased. Gone are those days where work was the main focus and workforce engagement was a distant thing. A positive thing about knowing a person’s life is beneficial. Firstly, a worker can avail benefits like half time, work from home, paid time off, caregiver leaves. It is a bliss for people who have elderly parents and kids to take care of This in a way retains individuals trust in a company, wherein they can achieve professional life commitment along with personal one. Secondly, getting to know a hobby and interest in a way helps to curb stress-related issues whether arising due to workload or at home. For example, in a study it was found that Quick Dance sessions in between job, Mediation sessions during lunch breaks or organizing fun activities on Fridays refreshed and relaxed their mind. The workers were happy as they could focus better. Furthermore, there are some negative aspects of knowing an individual’s private details. First and foremost thing is that it leads to good profile job rejections. Employers selected candidates primarily based on their marital status. For instance, HR jobs mostly focus on hiring female candidates who are single. Secondly, fields which have gender-specific preference prefer male employees over females. Construction sites, mining sites or even locations with remote access demand jobs where one has to work under stringent conditions. To conclude, one side knowing a recruits overall whereabouts lets the organization show company care’s for them as an extended family. A little effort by an organization counts, that keeps a cheerful and easy-going environment at the office. Moreover, the other side has its own drawbacks which require gender-specific roles. Though, in today's era women are at par capable of taking up tasks defeating gender chauvinism