Some people say material possessions are very useful in bringing us happiness, but others argue that they are useless in terms of providing happiness. discuss both views and give your opinion and reasons,

People are of the opinion that earthly possessions are a major cause of happiness while others hold a different view, arguing that wealth holds no value in bringing about joy. Although material possesions may be a source of euphoria, it does not provide permanent satisfaction and may be associated with sadness. Both views would be further discussed and my opinion given. Happiness is a derivative of earthly possessions, as believed by certain individuals. Achieving a milestone or completing a project such as building a mansion, completing a family size brings gladness to the heart of men which they hold on to for a long period of time. For instance, a cousin of mine who was overjoyed at his recent appointment as the governor of Benue state, though tasked with many responsibilities, was glad having achieved such feat. He threw a grand party in celebration of his prosperity. In addition, simple momentary things, like a gift, purchasing a car or exceling at an examination can be a vital source of joy to individuals. In my viewpoint, wealth and earthly possesions play a role in generating happiness, but it is short-lived. On the other hand, a different view of wealth not contributing to happiness is held by some individuals. Mans wants are insatiable and constantly changes from time to time, this delight is subjective. Happiness may occur following an achievement but it is temporary as another task is set, failure to fulfill such task may subsequently result in sadness which eventually leads to a depressed state. For example, a friend who failed an examination following the loss of his mum became depressed and almost committed suicide, but for the intervention of family members. In my point of view, happiness should be derived from an eternal source that changeth not. Thus, irrespective of life's situation, one joy is full. In conclusion, material possesion possessions may contribute temporarily to happiness, such joy is short lived as mans want fluctuates and vanity equals vanity. God is the main source of everlasting joy.