Rising University fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects like philosophy and history, and only practical degree courses that maximize chance of employment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Owing to the increasing University fees and inadequate job possibilities, it is considered by many that higher institutes should not teach arts subjects such as philosophy and history. However, they should teach only practical courses which can amplify job opportunities. In my opinion, the university should offer these courses because these can beneficial for some students,but there are few demerits also. On the one hand,some people think that arts study for graduates needs to be removed from the curriculum which is supported by several arguments. Firstly, after the completion of the degree, students have to search for the jobs which demand more skill-based courses rather than these art courses which hardly helps in future jobs. For instance, Management graduates should have leadership skills which can be enhanced only by some projects. Secondly, these courses are quite expensive which can create additional stress for the learners. Moreover, it is often believed that arts subjects do not play important role in the skill-based employments. Conversely,these creative courses can be significant for some students who are preparing for government exams such as civil services exam which includes a massive portion of these art courses. Consequently,these arts modules can prove to be fruitful for them leading in the upliftment of their knowledge. Furthermore, these art courses are foremost for future politicians who should have a deeper understanding of the nation's culture and history. Therefore, these specific courses should remain in the syllabus of the graduates and, they should be given the choice to opt for these subjects depending upon their area of interest. In conclusion, Universities should try to maximize the job oriented courses in their institution,so that students can have a brighter future. With the assistance of these skill-based courses, the unemployment level will also fall, leading to rise in the economy.