Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

The cutting edge information technology has changed our lives and we use them right, left and centre. We have many benefits to use them because it makes work and daily grind easier, but also we should not forget about side effects on us. To my mind, I see more pros than cons according to this essential topic and I will provide some arguments. There are several convenient upsides that allow us to communicate more effectively via video conferences in such applications like ´Zoom´ or ´Skype´, especially during the Covid-19, where the world has switched from offline studying to online via above-mentioned tools. For instance, according to the last statistic in the UK, the number of students that use virtual face-to-face communication has increased to 72% from 34% compared to the past. Secondly, it is easy to find desirable sources of information on the Internet, so people don’t need to go to the libraries and to print some data. We can browse online via several clicks and we don’t need to waste time and blow money on looking for answers on different questions. Despite the benefits, nowadays loads of people spend too much time on social media networks, as the result we have undesirable consequences like losing social skills, people become depressed or they may have anxiety. They get used to chatting with their friends only via messages like ´Facebook´, ´Telegram´ apps or making new close people only through the Internet. To show what I mean, only for last year the 56% of individuals have rejected the option of face-to-face interactions, rather than to have real and vivid meetings. All in all, we see that there are more benefits than negative aspects, because to my mind the underlying purpose of this vital and modern technology is to ease our lives and mitigate the level of routine work everywhere. (307 words)