Some TV programmes, video of violent games and other leisure activities are harmful for children. How harmful they are? What can be done to solve these problems?

Children can easily access to different kinds of entertainment thanks to the development of technology, however many can negatively affect their development. In this essay, the reasons why entertainment activities can be bad and measures to reduce them will be discussed. Watching or playing harmful contents or games will probably have impacts on youngsters because they can learn inappropriate behaviours quickly. Firstly, teenagers may watch movies related to murderers and obsessed with them, which leads to a higher chance of committing crimes. Secondly, they often copy actions that they have seen so youngsters may repeat activities on movies without being aware of their misbehaviour. For example, students could bully their classmates because they found the action was cool on TV. Finally, teenagers may addict to the media and lost focus on studying. In fact, in some countries, there are rehab centres dedicated to game addicts and most of them are in young ages. To prevent these problems, there should be a corporation between different parties. Parents and schools need to control the stuff that children have access to. For instance, parents need to set up parental controls on their children's computers so that they do not spend too much time using them. Furthermore, they may block websites that have adult or violent contents to prevent their offsprings from accessing them. Also, the authorities may help to solve the issue by banning harmful sites before they reach to the citizens. Moreover, there can be 'Internet police' who will report and block any potential risks. To conclude, children may be affected by TV shows and video games they consume so different measures are needed to prevent their access to those contents. It is not only parents' and schools but also the authorities' responsibilities.